Separation Anxiety

After several weeks confined to the nest, squirrel babies are ready to make excursions with their mothers. Then the little ones busy themselves with learning how to move around their environment. The mother watches from a distance, and at night, the family goes back to the nest.

One spring day I heard the most awful racket in my garden. When I looked out, I saw the problem: the mother squirrel was refusing to nurse the babies anymore.

Imagine the shock and the hurt feelings of such a moment. The mother you’re depending upon and who has fed and looked after you has suddenly turned indifferent!

The alarmed babies were chasing and calling after their mother, who eventually left them alone in the garden. The photo above perhaps hints at why mothers are eager to move on from nursing. But still, I can’t help but wish this cruel moment of abandonment didn’t have to happen.

Needless to say, I couldn’t bear seeiing these poor babies in such a pitiful fix, so for the next few days I made sure to put out copious amounts of peanuts.

Come to think of it, the mother squirrel probably knew I would do that!

6 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

  1. The title of the pic must be so close to what she’s thinking.

    That must be tough moment, and yet unavoidable. At least you were there to smooth over the transition. 🙂

    Thanks for taking a look at my website! The first book is undergoing some formatting changes at the moment… soon to be available, I hope. The artwork keeps me busy too.

  2. Hey Vicki~

    I think you and I must have been “squirrels” in a recent past-life!

    Like you…it seems as though I FEEL for them deeply!

    Who could help it…they’re so damn cute!!!!

    I bet those little babies where so happy to have YOU as their 2nd mommy!

    As always…much thanks for your beautiful shares…they always touch my “core”

    Be well my friend,
    Ron

  3. Hello again!

    How can I leave a comment for your reader Greg? Each time I go to his site…it asks me to “log in” and when I do…it says my log in is incorrect.

    He’s got a GREAT site and I want to tell him so.

    Thanks Vicki!

    Ron

  4. Hi Ron,

    Hmmm. I just tried commenting to Greg and I got the same message as you. Let me noodle around and see if I can figure out how to communicate with him!

    Hey Greg, if you’re reading this, maybe you can tell us how to make comments on your site?

    We former squirrels (or maybe future?) have to stick together 😉

    V

  5. Evening Vicki~

    Please stop by my blog when you have a minute to pick up an “award” that I have so happily passed on to you!

    Be well,
    Ron

  6. Hi all,

    Thanks for taking a look at my site. 🙂 Vicki, I sent an email about posting comments at my site. For now, just send me an email with a username and temporary password that can be changed.

    I may change this to remove the restrictions, not sure yet.

    I’ll check out your site too, Ron.

Leave a Reply

